October 4, 2016

List of Mobile Health applications

As part of the Action Point 19 of the ehealth 2015-2018 action plan, an inquiry has been carried out regarding Mobile Health applications; that is to say, applications which enable the health of a patient to be furthered and/or monitored from a mobile device (smartphone, tablet, connected watch…).

This inquiry sought to establish a basic list of applications available in Belgium. The questions were based on the application itself, on criteria such as quality, security, private life, interoperability, and on “evidence-based” methods in medicine. The inquiry was thus very useful preparation for the Mobile Health call for projects, which ended on 30/09/2016.

A few results from the inquiry:

Regarding the inquiry intended to establish a basic list of mobile applications available in Belgium, a total of 143 responses were received.

Cardiology and diabetes are the most frequent pathologies represented, followed by chronic pain, strokes, and mental healthcare. Nevertheless, certain applications can be used for multiple pathologies.

Few applications use Belgian e-Health services. 38% declare that they do, those most often being eHealthBox or MyCareNet.

Only 36% of the projects entered have ties to a patient file; most applications are still independent solutions.

More than half of suppliers claim to follow “evidence-based” methods, and prove it with the help of documentation.

More than one third of applications do not (yet) have users in Belgium. However, some of them do have thousands of users abroad.

In around half of the cases, use of the mobile application is prescribed by a doctor.
15% of applications show that they are reimbursed in another European country.

The user of the application is, in around half of the cases, a healthcare provider (remotely or at the patient’s home); in the other half of cases, it is the patient him/herself, or a close caregiver.

Call for pilot projects

As a reminder, Maggie de Block, Minister of Social Affairs and Public Health, launched a call for pilot projects on the 1st of July in order to integrate Mobile Health applications into regular healthcare.

97 pilot project offers were entered.

Pilot project selection has since started, and will conclude at the end of December. Dependent on expectations being met, initial contact with the selected pilot projects will be made at this time. The next phase of the 19 Mobile Health action point will make sure to materialize the implementation of these projects. During the realization of these projects, various details, such as the legal implications or the validation criteria, will be examined and refined.

Source: e-health newsletter

inventaire-des-applications-mobile-health
octobre 4, 2016

Inventaire des applications Mobile Health

Dans le cadre du point d’action 19 du plan d’action eSanté 2015-2018, une enquête a été réalisée concernant les applications Mobile Health, c’est-à-dire les des applications qui permettent de promouvoir et/ou de suivre la santé d’un patient depuis un appareil mobile (smartphone, tablette, montre connectée…).

Cette enquête avait pour objet d’établir un inventaire de base des applications disponibles en Belgique. Les questions portaient sur l’application même, sur les critères de qualité, la sécurité, la vie privée, l’interopérabilité et les méthodes « evidence based » en médecine. De cette manière, l’enquête constituait une préparation très utile à l’appel à projet Mobile Health qui s’est terminé le 30/9.

Quelques résultats de l’enquête :

En ce qui concerne l’enquête destinée à établir un inventaire de base des applications mobiles disponibles en Belgique, 143 réponses ont été reçues au total.

La cardiologie et le diabète sont les pathologies les plus souvent représentées, suivies par la douleur chronique, les accidents vasculaires et les soins de santé mentale. Certaines applications peuvent néanmoins être utilisées pour différentes pathologies.

Peu d’applications utilisent les services eHealth belges. 38% déclarent le faire, il s’agit le plus souvent de l’eHealthBox ou de MyCareNet.

Seuls 36% des projets introduits ont un lien avec un dossier patient, la plupart des applications sont encore des solutions autonomes.

Plus de la moitité des fournisseurs déclarent suivre les méthodes « evidence based » et le prouvent à l’aide de documents.

Plus d’un tiers des applications n’ont pas -encore- d’utilisateurs en Belgique. Elles ont cependant des milliers d’utilisateurs à l’étranger pour certaines d’entre elles.

Dans environ la moitié des cas, l’utilisation de l’application mobile est prescrite par un médecin.
15% des applications indiquent qu’elles sont remboursées dans un autre pays européen.

L’utilisateur de l’application est dans environ la moitié des cas un prestataire de soins (à distance ou chez le patient), dans l’autre moitié des cas le patient même ou un aidant proche.

Appel à projets pilotes

Pour rappel, Maggie de Block, Ministre des Affaires sociales et de la Santé publique, avait lancé le 1er juillet dernier un appel à projets pilotes pour l’intégration des applications Mobile Health dans les soins de santé réguliers.

97 propositions de projets pilotes ont été introduites.

La sélection des projets pilotes a désormais débuté et prendra fin en décembre. Selon les attentes, les premiers contacts avec les projets pilotes sélectionnés seront conclus à cette période. La prochaine phase du point d’action 19 Mobile Health veillera à concrétiser la mise en place de ces projets. Durant la réalisation de ces projets, différents aspects comme le juridique ou les critères de validation seront examinés et affinés.

 

Source: Newsletter e-Santé